Land Rover and Range Rover Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
It seems to run alot..Im new to range rovers..mine is a 98 RR..I keep it on low ride..right under normal ride & keep the inhibit switch on to keep it from raising up & down all the time..Is this normal or is it possibly leaking somewhere..I have receipts in it where land rover did replace a block on it..any ideas? Anyplace common to be looking for it has 84k on it..serviced at land rover & a 1 owner..also the tranny seems to short shift..goes 1-2-3 pretty quick under normal driving..no lights on & my snapon scanner showed nothing other than TPS at 12.9% at idle in park..checked fluid when cold & was 2 quarts low..suppose to had the 90 k service already done tranny fluid change & all..maybe didnt refill all the way? Thanks for any help you can give me
Brian

·
Registered
125 Posts
Sounds like you have a suspension air leak. This frequent pump unning will ultimately take its toll on the pump. The fault may be elsewhere than the valve block, which is the really expensive part.

The transmission oil may be levelled when the box is hot, which would make a difference - check the owners' handbook - but 2 quats seems awfully low (mistakes can be made by servicing staff, or that may be leaking too).

·
Registered
6 Posts
You are now, where I was a few weeks ago, with a leak in your system, causing the pump to run more than it should. It finally failed-some 300 miles from home, and the truck settled to low, and rode on the bumpers-very,very rough ride home. Many phone calls and sound advice later, I put coil springs on, and eliminated the EMS completely. Rides quite well, but I do miss the up/down. Dealer convinced me if we fix this leak, and possibly even the compressor, the next weakest part would fail. If you habe 84K, expect further problems.

·
Registered
2 Posts