Land Rover and Range Rover Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 2003 Discovery with about 75,000 miles on it. Over the past 4 months a serious ticking noise has evolved, so that I sound like I am driving a beater around town. I am a novice car guy, and so I took it to my mechanic and he said that he did an oil-pressure test and it passed the test. He thinks the ticking is coming from the top of the engine, potentially near the cam shaft or cam shaft bearings. He did not take the engine apart, and determined this through a stethoscope.

The mechanic told me that he cannot buy cam shaft parts, and that the only fix would be to install a new(used) engine. Can this be true?!?

I would appreciate any thoughts.

I am unsure if this is related, but the car also has a nasty smell protruding mostly from the front it is a gas/burnt oil type smell. The fumes are also intense at time coming from the back of the car as well.

Thank you for your thoughts!

Also looking for any recommendations for a good Land Rover mechanic in the Chicago area. I'm willing to drive for the right person.

·
Registered
380 Posts
Look up the vin range for the 2003 oil pump failures. If you fall in this it could still be your pump, they are metal gears, and the crack and snap, but still can hold oil pressure; some people drive on it for months at a time. Also, for the smell, it could be numerous things, open your hood, and peek down at each catalytic converter, check for oil on them, them just check for any other leaks.
Common leaks:
Throttle body leaks coolant into cats
Head gasket seeping oil into cats
Valve cover bolts loosen and leak onto cats
I'm only really Listing the stuff on the cats because you say it smells burnt

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you for the advice, Dane.

I checked the the vin number and I do fall within the faulty VIN #'s. Do you think it's a pump issue?