Land Rover and Range Rover Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All:

Can anyone tell me about the construction (ie. are the body panels aluminum?) and any mechanical specs on a 1992 Range short wheel base?

How big is the engine? What kind of transmission? What are the specs on the drivetrain??? Does the 4 wheel drive system lock up in low range? Limited slip or open diffs???? Any info would be helpful!

I am new to the Rover world, and we have a nice 99 Disco II and this Range Rover that I hope to conquer the winter with, both acquired within the last month.

Thanks!!!!!!

·
I'd love to be in the Rat Patrol
3,205 Posts
Some of the panels are aluminum. A good way to tell is "look for rust". Just kidding.
It's a 3.9 liter. ZF transmission.
The axles are not locked in low.
I'm sure some of the other fellows will chime in.

·
Premium Member
10,236 Posts
Well you have a 3.9L engine, you have viscous coupling transfer, you are not locked up!! I believe the gears are 3.54:1! The hood and upper tailgate are not aluminum, rest of the body is. I have a 92 RRC and it does great in snow....Wish I had my snow-wheeling pics on the net I'd show you...You will be just fine...Here are some summer shots of my rig so you know what yours in capeable of!!

·
Registered
40 Posts
Funrover said:
The hood and upper tailgate are not aluminum, rest of the body is.
Not quite true
Aluminium doesn't respond well to being stretched round tight corners in the press-shop, so all the small radius panels are steel: hood (bonnet in UK), rear quarter pannels, upper AND LOWER tailgate, not to forget the basic body frame. Add water and you've got a self-propelled battery fizzing away, pity we can't use that instead of petrol!

·
Premium Member
10,236 Posts
learn something everyday!!!! Thanks Geoffrey! :D

·
Registered
60 Posts
-Aluminum: Front fenders, roof, door skins, rear quarter panels, cowl