Land Rover and Range Rover Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
249 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am pretty new at this, and I was wondering what would be best of off roading, a Disco I, a Disco II, or a RR Classic, and why? this is strictly an off roader with minimal, but some around town driving, thanks

·
Premium Member
2,367 Posts
hmm...not sure, but I own a disco II, and if you just going to trash it, then its not worth paying more for a DII, so take that off the list.

Perhaps a DI would be the best bet, but RRCs have a wider stance I belive. Either way looking at $1-5k for a good one.

anyone?

·
Forward!
2,324 Posts
I have owned and wheeled all three RRC, D1, and a D2! Would have to say without a doubt the D1 is the best of the bunch. The RRC would be close behind, but I would stay away from the viscous coupling years 89 onward. Go for an 87 or 88 with the manually locking center diff. and the 3.5 V8 as they tend to be more reliable. D2's are great trucks also but require a little bit more to get offroadable compared to the rest. With the smallest rear overhang of the bunch, 4L V8, and a diff lock IMO the D1 is truck to go with!

·
Registered
1,506 Posts
RRC (87-88) - better visibility than a Disco.

·
as good as it gets
331 Posts
I would say it all depends on the offroading you are talking about...there are many different levels of off roading and all takes some money all the way up to masses amount of money to keep your rig trail ready.

You have to ask yourself will this truck also be a daily driver...are you wanting to hit extreme 4x4 trails...do you want a truck that will get you through a moderate 3 trail or an extreme 5.