Land Rover and Range Rover Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm totally new to Series Land Rovers and would welcome some advice/suggestions.

I am looking to spend up to £1500-£2000 on a series land rover. Use will be very limited...it might not be used for weeks...and then be used for a short local journey of maybe 10 miles. Essentially it's a vehicle to load up with stuff that I don't want to put in the 'normal' car; a vehicle to add a trailer to and most importantly, when the local lanes are flooded/snowed under we can get down to the shops.

So..which model? petrol? diesel? Am I right in saying that if it is of sufficient vintage then it is exempt from vehicle excise duty? Is there any current or impending legislation re exhaust emissions, for example, that will force these elderly stalwarts off the road or force through very expensive modifications?

Any good books or magazines to read?

many thanks for any advcie

·
Registered
146 Posts
I would look at a series 2 or 3 if you are in the UK I think cars are tax exempt if thaey are made before 72 ( don't quote me on that ) and go for a petrol as they are easyer to maintain.

Look for rust in the footwells and bulkhead mainly and also the rear cross member.
There are plenty of 109inch ( long wheel base ) landy's for sale over there so should not be a problem getting one.
There are lots of landy mags around just go down to your local paper shop and see what they have there I buy the LRe and have sub-scribed to it I find that to be the best ( but there all pretty good )

Adam :beer:

·
Registered
76 Posts
Adam is correct about the vehicles over here being tax exempt before 72

But think, and choose carefully your vehicle! cos once you get it you will fall in love with it and you may soon see the "normal car" taking a step back, and the landy being used all the time!