Land Rover and Range Rover Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

· Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a series III land rover and theres a lot of white smoke coming from the exhaust. My dad said the timing chain might have streached. So I got a new one and we put it in. We think the timing was out by maybe a tooth.. But i havent put it back together yet (its too dam cold!)

Is there anything else that might be causing the smoke? And do landys always give out a lot of smoke?

· Registered
66 Posts
My 2.6 L series 3 doesn't give out much smoke at all, mind you I rebuilt the engine not the long ago. I dunno what could be causing it though. Have to see what the more knowledgable land rovers have to say, I'm still a novice
Dick

· Registered
317 Posts
landy andy,
A lot of white smoke usually indicates that water is entering the combustion chamber...ie, a coolant leak, usually attributable to a head gasket problem.

To make sure a compression and/or leakdown test would be in order...or you could run a used oil analysis to check for coolant in the oil.

In any case, check on it ASAP as ethylene glycol isn't too friendly to bearings...

Bogatyr

· Premium Member
16,548 Posts
Rule of thumb.
White smoke is coolant
Blue is oil
Black is fuel.
Sorry but you are looking at some head gaskets.
Mike J.

· Registered
18 Posts
My 2.25 petrol smokes a lot for several minutes but clears completely - it seems to do it more on gas than petrol for some reason.
How long does it smoke for? Does it clear completely? What engine is it?

It does sound like head gasket though - thats the most common cause.

· Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
It's a 2.25 diesel. I was planning to take the head off anyway. I have a new gasket set in the garage. Is there anything else i should check whilst i have the top off? Its 26 years old (i think), and has probly never been opened up in its life..

· Registered
222 Posts